WIAW #10

Good Morning Friends! Happy Wednesday. Hope you all are enjoying this last week of August. This month seems to have flown by so quickly. I am really looking forward to the next few months and the possible new job opportunities.

I switched things up slightly for breakfast today. I still had Kodiak Cakes but I layered them in a bowl with fresh local blueberries that I picked up at the farmer’s market on the weekend. I drizzled on some maple syrup and it went well with the sweet berries.
IMG_1274When I was at Blend this year I had the chance to try out Hope Foods Lentil Dips. I finally found them at Whole Foods last weekend and having been loving them. For lunch today I took the last of the lentil garlic dip and spread it on some toasted bread and topped it with some tomato. I also had some carrots and more of the blueberries. I’m not a huge garlic fan but this dip is very mild in the garlic dept compared to other garlic dips.
IMG_1264I snacked on a few pitted dates on top of some blueberries in the afternoon.
IMG_1277I have been really liking this ‘pizza’ lately. I take one whole egg and three egg whites and mix with salsa, some olives, and sundried tomatoes. I topped spread it on a piece of California Lavash Bread and baked it in the oven at 450 till brown (only 5-10 min). A quick and tasty alternative to an egg salad sandwich.

IMG_1272

I had the chance to hike at Blend with Laura. It was great to meet her and spend time chatting…such an awesome and inspiring person! She had a great review post on her site of the Veggetti. I had tried out the Paderno Spiralizer but found it too bulky for my small kitchen and ended up returning it. When I read her review I headed out to Bed Bath and Beyond and picked it up (got to use a 20% off coupon too!). I have been loving it! It takes up no space at all and it makes ‘zoodles’ easily and quickly. I took a whole zucchini and made noodles out of it. I added some cut up tomato and some Hope Foods Habanero Lentil dip to coat the zoodles. It was so good. Such a quick and veggie packed side dish. IMG_1268I ended the day with some blueberries, frozen mango chunks, and some of these pumpkin raisin balls. I mentioned a few weeks ago that I have a ton of pumpkin puree that I need to use up before I move. I saw Whitney’s recipe and decided to give it a try. They were fabulous. I didn’t have any almonds so I left them out and I found them sweet enough with only 1/2 tbsp of maple syrup. They turned out great and I made another batch to take to work to snack on this week. IMG_1275

Hope you all enjoy the long weekend!

Make sure you head over to Jenn’s page to check out everyone else’s great food.

Cheers!

Kate

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WIAW #10

  1. Glad you liked the pumpkin bites!! Another great addition is coconut flakes if you decide to make them again 🙂

    I need to try that lentil dip! xo

    Like

Leave a comment