WIAW #80

Good Morning on this last Wednesday and WIAW of 2015! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed the holidays. It is still unseasonably cool here in California. Can’t believe how warm it has been in the North East this year.

Hot bowl of my stand by fav of late oatmeal, ground flaxseed, and oranges. I tried to pick up some pecans at Trader Joe’s the other day but they were out. I have been wanting them since I had them in NYC. I stopped by yesterday and they were back in stock. Chopped pecans on top of today’s oatmeal. Yum!
IMG_3249Morning snack of fresh baked pumpkin muffin with some Earth Balance spread and an orange.
IMG_3243I spotted this Almond Nog at Whole Foods the other day and decided to give it a try. I don’t really care for egg nog by itself but have always likes a little bit with hot tea. This tastes like the real deal. I’ve been enjoying hot tea in the afternoon this past weekend.
IMG_3245I also managed to find a small 9lb bird at Whole Foods on Christmas Eve and after pulling out the neck and bag of giblets….I popped it in the oven
IMG_3242Well I don’t know what happened. After a few hours the breast was totally cooked but the thighs were registering a lower temp. The skin was all dry and hard. I assumed it must have been done. After letting it rest I started to carve it. The breasts were really well done. I then went to cut the legs and found them totally raw! I still can’t understand how it cooked unevenly. I didn’t know how to cook it further without cooking the breasts further. I hate wasting food but in the trash it went. I am clearly not capable of cooking a bird. Need to figure out another way to get my turkey fix. While I was cleaning up I ended up throwing a piece of salmon in the oven and ate that with my purple potato. I have been all about meals in a bowl lately.
IMG_3246I am off work this coming weekend and the start of the new year will mean my search for a new job location soon starts. I will be moving away from southern California in a short time and need to start looking at locations and job needs. Exciting for a new place but stressful and nervous at the same time.

Tonight though for those interested PBS is showing the Michael Pollen film In Defense of Food. I have read all of his books and have heard great things about this documentary. I have it set for the DVR.

Any New Year’s Eve Plans? I’ll probably just pick up something special for dinner and have a quiet night at home. Quieter night than being in Times Square a few weeks ago!
IMG_3158Happy New Year!

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers!

Kate

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WIAW #80

  1. I wonder why your bird didn’t cook evenly. I’very never heard of that happening before. Good luck with the job search and Happy New Year

    Like

  2. Ooh, I thought that that pumpkin muffin was a pumpkin English muffin at first! ๐Ÿ™‚ And Times Square was CRAZY when we went there. We didn’t even go on New Year’s Eve. O_O Thankful to the Heavenly Father for a NEW year! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. jejansonius says:

    Wow you went to Times Square?!? I would love to visit New York again! Love th eats girl. Happy New Years!

    Like

  4. faithvandermolen says:

    I’m loving oatmeal right now! I’m such a phase person when it comes to food, and oatmeal is definitely my breakfast phase right now! I’m hoping to have a quite night at home tonight too, but I may get sucked into a party;)

    Like

  5. jac says:

    Happy New Year! I always get rolled turkey breast or a turkey ballotine. So much easier to cook than the full bird!

    Like

Leave a Reply

