WIAW #73

Good Morning Friends! Before I jump right to the WIAW fun how about a quick update on happenings in my world. After weeks of job decisions I finally know where I’m moving to next week. After mulling over offers from Connecticut and California I finally signed a contract to work at a hospital in San Diego! While I was ready to deal with winter if needed the perk of a short relocation  (on short notice) down the coast makes it much simpler. I have only spent a little time in the area and definitely looking forward to exploring it further. I’ll only be working 3 days a week so I’ll hopefully have more time to check out some sights….including the great eats, drinks, and sights that Laura keeps posting!

Seeing as I was on an incredibly tight timeline I headed down to San Diego to find an apartment bright and early Saturday morning. After a quick oatmeal breakfast I home I stopped by a nearby Coffee Bean and picked up a cup of their Winter Tea. I have never been to this shop but recently saw people raving about this tea. It was really good.
IMG_3013 I spotted this coffee that I may need to return and try 🙂 It said it had ginger notes which was intriguing.
IMG_3012I arrived right at the opening of the leasing offices at 9am. After checking out one complex with no availability I headed over to location #2. I toured the complex and immediately decided to lease the unit. I filled out the application and submitted the payment. As soon as I hit submit on their electronic application two other people who had been touring came back into the office with plans to lease that same unit. I was so glad to have lucked out…made up for getting up early on a day off! Traffic was getting quite busy so I headed back up to Orange County. I had thrown some pretzels in a bag and munched on them and some water while stuck in stop and go traffic. I am on a role with these lately. So good to snack on and not overly salty.
IMG_1982I finally got back home around noon. I quickly whipped up a smoothie and grabbed a free sample bar from the vegetarian festival I went to last weekend. I added some frozen peach to the smoothie which seemed to make it a bit thicker.
IMG_3006I headed back out for an afternoon of running errands. I got home right before supper and cooked the last remaining piece of Sizzlefish salmon in the freezer. I nailed the  sweet potato cooking time…400F for 60 minutes seemed to be perfect. My naturopath recommended trying some green beans so I picked up some thin ones at Costco. They tasted really good but I didn’t feel great after eating them unfortunately.
IMG_3005Spent the end of the day on the couch planning moving details while snacking on some delicious critters 🙂
IMG_3010

That’s a wrap for this week. I am taking an online college course which starts today so I am off to study….as if I don’t have enough to do already! Hope you all have a great week and perhaps are lucky to enjoy today off work (I will be working unfortunately).

Have you ever been to San Diego? Any must do recommendations?
Anyone tried ClassPass? I’ve heard a bit about it but never signed up. Thinking about trying it out in SD.
WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers

Kate

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WIAW #73

  1. yay for animal crackers!! I haven’ thad them in so long and now i’m craving some. I’ve only been to San Diego once, and it was years ago – all I remember was the zoo 🙂 Congrats on the new job AND the online class!! sounds like things are moving along.

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    I do ClassPass! I really liked it for a long time, but lately, the studios on there aren’t putting up available times, so it’s become just kind of a big yoga thing lately. The few studios I liked are just not active on there and ClassPass hasn’t removed their names from being on there. It’s kind of annoying. I’m thinking about quitting it to go back to being a member at a CrossFit gym. (I’ve done ClassPass for almost a year.)

    Like

  3. Yay! I love SD! I went to college there but that was over 10 years ago. I lived on or near SDSU and the Mission Valley and Mira Mesa neighborhoods. Gaslamp and Hillcrest are nice areas to hang. Balboa park and the beach areas are fun too. I’m sure a lot has changed in the past 10 years. Laura can probably give you better advice on SD hangouts.

    Like

    • I’ll be in the same area…found a place in Mission Valley by the mall. Didn’t explore the immediate area too much but seems somewhat central and has a lot of close amenities. Sounds like there is a ton in the area to do and a bit easier to get around compared to the LA area. If you have time for a visit at Christmas I’ll have to come up the coast we can catch up! Hope you guys are feeling more settled in the house and are loving the space and kitchen!

      Like

  4. Jayne Loghry says:

    Wow how your life changes ever so quickly and I agree with three days on you will have more time to explore and that should be so much fun for you! I love animal crackers good choice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

