WIAW #71

Time for another weekly update on my happenings and a chance to join up with the WIAW fun. I had signed up a while ago for a 10 mile race along the Pacific Coast Highway. I headed over to the expo to pick up the race packet on Saturday morning. How awesome is this outdoor expo….it was small but the vibe totally beat out some of the crowded convention center ones I’ve attended
IMG_2973Sunday morning I was up at 5 am in order to make it in time for the 7am start.
I skipped my coffee as I wasn’t sure how my stomach would like it and just stuck with oatmeal, strawberries, and a few frozen nectarine slices. Quick to eat and I was out the door.
IMG_2987I got a parking spot and sat and watched the sunrise. It was exactly what my mind needed. Life has been crazy lately with lots of ups and downs and spending this time before the start was very peaceful
IMG_2975The humidity was crazy and although it was a small race they allowed strollers in the race which boggled my mind. No offense to any parents out there but I don’t get why you want to go in a race with a stroller (or the double wide ones). People were pushing strollers  though crowds. It was a turn off and I was sick of the congestion. The race had a 10k run so I ended up just doing that instead. Most of the strollers seemed to carry on with the 10 mile distance so I found the 10k less congested and was able to take in the great scenery.
IMG_2980I got home and made a refreshing smoothie of my go to lately of almond milk, strawberries, a few blackberries, and some of the Sun Warrior Organic natural protein powder.
IMG_2885Later for lunch I made a tuna sandwich….which really means I opened a can of tuna, added some grainy mustard, a bit of yellow mustard, lots of pepper, mixed it together and put it between two slices of bread. Effortless, perfect lazy delicious lunch!
IMG_2988Since I’ll be moving in a few weeks I had a chicken breast left to eat in the freezer. I topped it with pepper and baked it in the oven. I topped some BBQ near the end so it wouldn’t burn. I had bought a sweet potato to have with it but totally underestimated the length of time to cook the potato so it was undercooked  (i.e. barely cooked). I never seem to get my times right. I tried 400 for an hour with the chicken but while the chicken was done it wasn’t. Everyone seems to swear by different temps for potatoes. I diced up the chicken and then chopped up some raw veggies to have along side instead
IMG_2983Ended the day with some fig cookies and a glass of cold vanilla almond milk.
IMG_2974Hope you all have a safe and happy Halloween!

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers!

Kate

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WIAW #71

  1. Lilly says:

    That sunrise!! Mmmm. What a perfect way to start the day. That is totally frustrating about the strollers though. How odd. Wouldn’t that be a bit awkward and difficult to do? I love the ease and simplicity in your meals. Comfort to the max.

    Like

  2. Stunning scenery! The humidity has been insane in SoCal this year. Never thought I’d look forward to winter so much!

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    For sweet potatoes, I usually did 450 for 1.5-2hrs (or longer for big ones). I used to wrap my sweet potatoes in tinfoil and throw them on the oven rack, but then I decided the aluminum released from cooking probably wasn’t good for me. But those were the BEST sweet potatoes ever. If you squish the tinfoil and they have a lot of give, then they’re done. I actually stopped trying to make sweet potatoes because I always failed at making them by really undercooking them, but it takes a high temp and a long time to get a good one. Now, I add about 1/2 crockpot worth of water and cook them for a few hours in the crockpot, since that doesn’t release chemicals, but they’re not quite as good.

    Like

  4. What a fun race along PCH!

    Like

Leave a Reply

