WIAW #57

Good morning and happy Wednesday friends! As you know Wednesdays are a chance to link up with Jenn and join the WIAW fun. I am counting down the days until I will be moving to Southern California at the end of the month. Thanks though to mother nature I will now having to take a 2-3hour detour through San Diego as the main interstate between Phoenix and LA is closed due to a bridge washout and collapse. I ended up selling my bed and mattress on Craigslist and am now hoping someone will buy my sofa before I have to slash the price. The money that I did get from my bed has all been spent on these delicious summer treats.
IMG_2468My standards summer fruit is quite high. I will pay for good tasting and high quality non mushy/over ripe fruit as I know the season is short and they are so good. In Phoenix the best cherries in taste and condition has been at Whole Foods. They have had this ‘sale’ on for the past month. Can’t get enough of cherries this week!

Breakfast on Monday was some leftover watermelon I had in the fridge along side my old standby breakfast. I did pick up a new variety of coffee. I prefer light blends and tried out the Allegro Breakfast Blend from Whole Foods. It has been really good.
IMG_2458When I finally got home after running errands all morning I was starving. Luckily I toasted up an english muffin and topped it with Nuttzo. I have almost finished the jar as I didn’t want to have to throw out the pricy nut spread when I move. Numerous sweet cherries were the perfect side dish!
IMG_2467Supper on Monday was a home run. I was catching up on some blog reading that morning and saw Lindsay had posted about rutabega ‘fries‘. I decided to give the method a whirl for supper that night. I tend to not make oven fries as I have never been able to get them crispy and not soggy. I picked up a rutabaga at the supermarket and tried out the recipe. I think cutting them 1/2’ wide made the difference. I did cook them at 450C but for a little longer than Lindsay suggested. They were awesome…especially when dipped in good old ketchup. It was the perfect accompaniment to by frozen chicken burger.
IMG_2463I also had some iceberg lettuce salad on the side. I wanted a break from the usual kale or spinach mixes but still was wanting salad. This has been great. The crunch is definitely something that kale or spring mixes can’t match!
IMG_2461I ended the day by snacking on popcorn while stretching out on the couch and the tv
IMG_2465Hope you all have a great week and are enjoying summer fruit and some tasty eats 🙂

Are you a fan of home made oven ‘fries’?

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers!

Kate

 

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WIAW #57

  1. YUMMY! I love summery fruits – i’m all about getting as many as I can while they’re good! And i love homemade fries – especially sweet potato ones!

    Like

  2. I miss good produce! That’s definitely something California has that Hawaii lacks. I’ve made sweet potato fries before. They came out delicious but mushy. I’ll have to try rutabaga fries sometime, but I’m guessing that it’s going to be a huge challenge finding a rutabaga on Kauai.

    Like

  3. Great eats! I will say I’d make oven fries if I could make anything work! I can’t for the life of me make sweet potato fries. I’d rather by them frozen and just put them in the oven;)

    Like

  4. cottercrunch says:

    looks so delish! and you know i am loving those chips too!

    Like

  5. We just finished the whole selling on Craigslist/packing/moving thing and I’m amazed you do it so often!! I hope you can get your couch sold before you leave:)

    Like

  6. Love, love, love rutabaga fries! I have mine with avocado on the side, and it’s just so delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

