Summer Fresh Coleslaw Recipe

I am finally posting the salad recipe I have been mentioning for a few weeks
ColeslawWhen I travel I often will stop by Whole Foods and pick up dinner at the deli counter. I try to resist the urge to pick up some of their appealing salads and selections everytime I am at the store! I look forward to usually making one of my travel nights a ‘Whole Foods’ dinner night. A few weeks ago I was away and picked up a container of this coleslaw salad. The employee said it was a must try item. I tend to avoid coleslaw as I am not a fan of mayo heavy salads. She said this one had no mayo and an amazing dressing. I decided to give it a whirl. It was fantastic. I immediately started searching for the recipe online. I found this one which seemed to closely resemble the flavor of the dressing.
IMG_2238When I got home I tried a couple versions at recreating the dressing. While it isn’t a 100% replication of the original I think it does make a mayo free dressing. It would be perfect for those summer picnics or BBQs when fridge free items are in demand!
IMG_2336Summer Fresh Coleslaw Recipe

3 Tbsp White Wine Vinegar
1 1/2 Tbsp yellow prepared mustard. Can swap out for 1/8tsp of dry mustard
1/4 tsp cumin
1 tsp Italian Seasoning. I didn’t have regular oregano on hand initially and used this mix. I have made it with oregano only but like the blend. Use whatever you desire!
1/2-1 Tbsp sugar. (Optional) It isn’t overly sweet with the sugar but I like the taste of it without the sugar
1/2 cup chopped green onion
Ground Salt and pepper to taste
3 cups of cabbage/slaw mix
1 cups grated carrot

1. Mix dressing ingredients together and adjust seasonings to taste.
2. Add cabbage or slaw to bowl and coat well.
3. Add green onion
4. Chill in the fridge for at least 30-60 min but I usually aim for a few hours. The flavor seems to improve with time.

Optional add ins:
1/2-1 clove minced garlic. I’m not a fan of raw garlic and leave it out. My friend made it with it and said it was good.
1/2 cup red onion sliced or chopped. I will add if I have it on hand but don’t worry about it if I don’t have it.
I play around with the veggie quantities and mix all the time. I usually use a whole bag of the Trader Joe’s broccoli slaw mix and it makes the perfect salad/dressing ratio. If the cabbage mix I have is light on carrots I will add the grated carrot too.  Use whatever mixture you like.

IMG_2334Hope you enjoy this summer slaw! Let me know if you try it.

Cheers!

Kate

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Fresh Coleslaw Recipe

  1. Pingback: WIAW #52 | Kate Lives Healthy

Leave a Reply

