WIAW #49

Good Morning! Hope you all had a great long weekend and are not in the path of the horrible storms in the south. I got out for a hike on Saturday and it was great to hit the trails again here in sunny Phoenix. I have been enjoying the past few days at home in Phoenix. I have been trying to spend the afternoons lounging outside or by the pool. Very relaxing and much needed.Β It was my birthday yesterday and I am hoping to get inspired on something fun and different to have for dinner tonight to celebrate.
IMG_2244It has been cooler than usual here and we will only be starting to enter our days of 100F plus temps this weekend (much later than normal). I wanted to take full advantage of the cooler days and the ability to hike in comfort πŸ™‚

Pre hiking fuel breakfast…I wanted to use up some blueberries and decided to try and add some to my pancakes. While they tasted ok they made the pancakes quite soggy. I need to try again perhaps or just stick to enjoying the berries on top!
IMG_2239I stopped at the farmer’s market on the way home and couldn’t resist these local plums.
IMG_2245They made the perfect snack while strolling around the market.
IMG_2247I am still on the cinnamon life kick. My sister loved life cereal growning up and I could take it or leave it. Now I am the one who is a fan. I had a bowl with some milk when I got home but forgot to take a photo.
IMG_2211In addition to life cereal I am also eating watermelon like it is going out of style. Nothing beats cold watermelon from the fridge on a warm day.
IMG_2259I picked up a little container of this coleslaw from Whole Foods the other day. I think this is the recipe. It was oil and mayo free and the dressing was delicious. I think I need to recreate it soon.
IMG_2238While at Trader Joe’s I spotted frozen basmati rice packs and thought I would try it out. I don’t usually eat rice as I have not found a way to cook a single small serving without a ton of leftovers. I was intrigued by the promise that it was ready in 3 min and there was nothing but rice in the packs. I’m not sure when the last time I had white rice was but it was really good and I think will be a new addition to my TJ staple list.
IMG_2255I served it along side a fillet of salmon and some kale and spinch from Costco that I defrosted. I topped the spinach and kale with this sauce
IMG_2275I picked it up in Boulder at the farmer’s market and it was really tasty.

I also had salad on the side.
IMG_2258Later in the evening I had some more watermelon along side this patriotic treat that caught my eye at Target. More watermelon was eaten as well!
IMG_2260Hope you all have a great remaining days of May and are starting to get warmer weather where you live. Do you have any plans?

I have been spending the afternoons relaxing outside and after being fed up with my iPad getting too hot I found an Amazon Kindle on craigslist that I picked up yesterday. I was about to order one right from Amazon but decided to browse Craigslist first. I was able to get a great deal on one that this guy got as a gift and never used or opened. I am now off to try and figure out how to use it!

Are you a fan of rice?
Any favorite methods or tips on cooking it in small quantities?
Does baking with blueberries (fresh) always result in soggy results? I also tried a mini muffin recipe and had the same soggy outcome 😦
Do you have a Kindle?

I am once again linking up with Jenn and the WIAW series! Thanks for hosting Jenn!
WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers!

Kate

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WIAW #49

  1. That is the WORST about berries- You try adding them to the batter and they sink or make them soggy- I say add them on top πŸ˜€

    Thanks for linking up, Happy WIAW!

    Like

    • I was actually browsing your site yesterday in search of your protein pancake recipe. Wondered if you have any recommendations for protein powders to add to them. I don’t use powders in shakes so don’t have any on hand. Thinking I need to try making some mix as it seems so easy and cheaper!

      Happy WIAW to you too!

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your WIAW eats- I love WIAW posts and these linkups!
    Coleslaw without mayo? I may have to try that – I don’t mind mayo but for some reason I can’t stand it on cabbage (and thus I don’t like coleslaw) but i love cabbage other ways! I’ll have to try that!

    Like

  3. jac says:

    Happy birthday! I love my kindle – it is so easy and compact.

    Like

  4. jejansonius says:

    That rice looks real good! Love that your loving the weather πŸ˜‰ .

    Like

  5. faithvandermolen says:

    I know this is late, but Happy Birthday!! I hope you had a great day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

