WIAW #47

Good Wednesday morning from sunny Phoenix! I am back home in the desert and as the saying goes “there is no place like home”. I woke up at 3:30am on Saturday and hit the road. After 16 straight hours on the road and driving through a tornado (not fun), flooded highways, snow in New Mexico I arrived home to sunshine and warmth. I quickly unpacked the car, tossed a beer in the freezer, and headed out to the nearby Chipotle for a chicken salad with extra lettuce. It totally hit the spot.
IMG_2199I have been busy getting my place set back up and stocked with the necessities the past few days. I had a dental checkup scheduled on Monday and was told that I needed a crown put on a tooth that had a root canal years ago as well as a couple fillings redone. Today I spend 3 hours at the dentist and while trying to repair a filling it broke and tomorrow I will be returning for a root canal on that tooth! I am hoping it goes well and as it should. I have had problems with getting enough freezing absorption with the local anesthetic and am hoping this new dentist can dose enough tomorrow. Fingers crossed! In the meantime here is a glance at the meals I’ve been eating back home.

On Sunday morning I went to Costco. One of the items on my list to shop for was a patio table and chair set. I was going to look at Target but saw Costco had this table on clearance for $24 and the chair on sale for $47. I have had the chair before and it is supportive and comfortable. My patio is shaded and I know I will get a ton of use out of it as the weather warms. Breakfast was enjoyed outside today. Sprouts had 6oz containers of blackberries for $.75! I couldn’t resist 😉
IMG_2201Another Costco purchase was a gigantic watermelon for $4.99! I sliced it up and enjoyed some cold from the fridge as a mid morning snack
IMG_2208Along with some Cinnamon Life cereal. I haven’t had this in ages but saw it on sale at Costco as well and knew it would make a great snack
IMG_2211Lunch was eaten on the run while I was out doing errands. I am off to Colorado on Friday to Blend and have a ton of things to get done before I leave. I had a Bearded Brothers Orange Beet and Kale bar. These are the bomb! I ate them for breakfast and lunch while I was driving on Saturday. I found them at REI stores and of course you can get them online. I also had some pretzels and a Starbucks Passionfruit Iced tea.
IMG_2205Love the simple list of ingredients.
IMG_2206Supper post dental work was a salad with all the mushrooms instead of the crunchy fresh carrots I had planned. Somewhat easier to chew with a frozen mouth!
IMG_2213Since I got home later than I had planned I threw a TJ turkey burger in the oven and topped it with ketchup and mustard on a toasted english muffin. I picked the muffins up on a whim at Target to see how they would be as a ‘burger bun’. The result was excellent! Definitely will be my choice when enjoying a burger at home.
IMG_2203Desert was a scoop of Ciao Bello Passionfruit sherbet with the remaining blackberries. It hit the spot!
IMG_2204I hope you all have a great rest of the week and are looking forward to the weekend.

Anyone coming to Blend? I am so excited!

I am linking up with Jenn again for the weekly WIAW series.
WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers!

Kate

 

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WIAW #47

  1. Those eats look delicious- Absolutely craving chipotle now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

