WIAW #40

Good morning friends! Hope you are all having a fabulous week and the weather is finally starting to improve where you are living. The sun has finally emerged for two consecutive days here in Dallas….fingers crossed that the warmer weather is on its way. The Rock N Roll Dallas race was held on the weekend and while I didn’t participate in the race I did head to the expo to browse the exhibitors. I went first thing in the morning and it was great. There happened to be a Jaybird booth and after talking to the guy about the problems I had with the headphones I returned he was able to troubleshoot what was probably wrong and I ended up buying pair. I used them on Monday and they worked wonderfully. I still need to perfect the fit in the ear but being free of cords is wonderful. These are the ones I got if you are curious.

After the expo I headed to a nearby farmer’s market that was having the first opening day of the season. I picked up these local organic strawberries for a delicious treat. So much more flavor compared to the supermarket ones.
IMG_2087I also made a long overdue trip to The Fresh Market. I spotted this coffee on sale for $6 each. I tried the caramel one yesterday and it was yummy! I have been craving some nut butter but didn’t really feel like almond butter. Nuttzo was on sale so I picked up a jar!
IMG_2084Breakfast the next day was hot Kodiak Cakes and bright berries along side a cup x2 of the new coffee!
IMG_2090The gym is quite subpar at this apartment complex I am staying at. They have some spin bikes though that I have been trying out lately. Also there is wifi at the gym so I have been biking while watching Netflix. After coming back from the gym I was so thirsty but not overly hungry. I needed to head out the post office to mail some packages and knew that I needed something to eat before braving the long lines! Some Nuttzo on some rice cakes with tons of cold water! I like the combo flavor in the Nuttzo and haven’t had it in months.
IMG_2096By the time I got home I was starving and still needed to hit up Costco for groceries. Seeing as I was low on food I whipped up a batch of Kodiak Cakes. Delicious and quick! More strawberries before heading out for more errands all afternoon. The berries tasted as wonderful as they look 🙂
IMG_2089I had planned on picking up a sweet potato but the selection was poor unfortunately at the store. While at Costco I picked up a box of individual guacamole cups. I enjoy guac but find it always goes bad if I make a batch of it as I don’t eat it quick enough. They were sampling this one and it was chunky and not overly garlicky.  I got home again later than I had hopped and was starving. I paired the guac with cut raw veggies and a local cold beer while I was cooking dinner.
IMG_2085I cooked a chicken breast that was a lot bigger than I had thought. I ate half for dinner and saved the rest to take to work the next day. Salad topped with tons of TJ’s sundried tomatoes and mushrooms 🙂
IMG_2094After a busy day I enjoyed relaxing on the couch with fresh popped popcorn.
IMG_2037I tried to bust out of my repetitive meals this week and think I succeeded despite some busier days. I am looking forward to maybe trying out some local hiking trails here this weekend if it stays warmer and dries up.

Do you have any plans for this weekend?
Are you a frequent shopper at farmer’s markets?
Any new food finds lately?

Make sure you head over to Jenn’s and Laura’s wonderful blogs and see what WIAW is all about.
WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONSCheers!

Kate

 

 

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to WIAW #40

  1. Organic fruit does taste way better than conventional supermarket varieties! Those coffee flavors look amazing too 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice looking food! I would love to frequent a good farmer’s market…Washington always had lots of good ones…Even Alaska had some. Here I think it’s mostly summer stuff…I still have yet to check it out in the summer:)

    Like

  3. Seeing your strawberries I want a big bowl all my own, yours look so juicy and sweet.

    Like

  4. Isn’t the Fresh Market grand? Almost as good as the Whole Foods. 😉

    Like

  5. jejansonius says:

    Love it as usual ma’am going to see you again at Blend Retreat?!?!?!

    Like

  6. It all looks good, especially those fresh berries. We’ve still got a few months before it’s berry time here, so I’ll just live vicariously through you until then. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

