WIAW #8

Happy Wednesday! It is hard to believe that we are almost halfway through August. This summer seems to have flown by so quickly. I had a job interview for a new job in Phoenix last week. It went really well and will be flying down at the end of September for a tour of the hospitals and more interviews with the OR hiring team. I have been to Phoenix quite a few times and love it there but have never made a huge geographical move like this in my life before. It would be an awesome opportunity but difficult to leave family and friends. Needless to say I have been doing a lot of thinking lately! Now onto a peek at some of my recent meals.

The peaches I bought last week were ripened nicely so I have been busy eating them and freezing them for later. I just slice them and freeze them on a baking sheet and transfer to a ziplock bag once they are frozen. I leave the skins on and don’t bother boiling them first. It makes grabbing a slice or two so quick and then are not all smushed together in a bag. I had a peach this morning with my Kodiak Cakes.

IMG_1188

I snacked on some square rice cakes with almond butter and some of the homemade blueberry chia jam I recently made. The chia seeds thickened the berries nicely.

IMG_1207

For lunch I had a peanut butter and blueberry jam sandwich. I was craving some veggies so I munched on a carrot while I was making the toast and then added some cherry tomatoes to the plate. I love these little guys. I also had some cherries that I picked up on the weekend at the Farmer’s Market. Quick, tasty, and easy….the perfect lunch!
IMG_1210

For supper I decided I needed to use up some of the eggs I had in the fridge. This mixture consisted of one hardboiled egg and 2 egg whites. I don’t mind the yolk but am not a huge fan of it. I added in salsa, a few leftover sliced olives, and some sundried tomatoes. I know it is a strange sounding combo but it was surprisingly quite good. I was trying to come up with a meal that didn’t require me to use the oven since it was so warm. I had some huge sugar snap peas on the side.
IMG_1192

Later on I snacked on juicy peach and had a few of these cookies. Last fall Costco was clearing out cases of organic canned pumpkin so I stocked up. I decided to try and come up with a pumpkin chocolate cookie recipe. I need to keep playing around with the recipe as they aren’t post worthy yet 🙂
IMG_1187IMG_1222

Don’t forget to head over to Jenn’s page to see more great summer food.

Have you ever made a big move for a job?

Cheers!

Kate

This entry was posted in WIAW. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WIAW #8

  1. Ohhhh pumpkin chocolate cookies?! Yum!!! If you perfect the recipe, I hope you share it!! 🙂 Happy WIAW!

    Like

Leave a Reply

